Less Than Challenge

Living life with less than…

CHALLENGE #1: Spring Fling

1 Comment

Put together a perfect spring outfit for less than $30.

Not much sun, but three days above 70 degrees!

Not much sun, but three days above 70 degrees!

Based on this week’s forecast, winter finally seems to have wrapped up here in Albany.  I am itching to add some new spring pieces to my wardrobe, and I have a shopping date booked on Tuesday.  Needless to say, it didn’t take long to develop the inspiration for my inaugural Less Than Challenge: put together a perfect spring outfit for less than $30.

Since this is my first post, I’ll be making up the rules as I go, but if you have suggestions for future challenges, be sure to let me know!  For now, here it goes…

  1. I must purchase at least 3 new items to be worn together as part of a perfect spring ensemble.  Bonus points if they can be worn separately to make additional outfits.
  2. Items I already own may be incorporated, but may not make up the majority of the look (old jeans with new top and accessories – okay; old jeans, shirt, and shoes with new jewelry – not okay).
  3. My receipts for everything new must total less than $30, after tax.
  4. I have one week to complete this challenge.

 

To get my fashion juices flowing in preparation for this quest, I turned to Pinterest, of course.  Thanks to my friend Tara, I happened upon the perfect style board to meet my needs:

Credit: Amanda Holloway What to Wear | Seniorologie

Credit: Amanda Holloway What to Wear | Seniorologie

I would be happy with almost any of these looks for my new outfit, especially if I can stick to my budget in putting it together.  I’ll admit I am in love with all things mint, but I’m really drawn to all the coral, and a few nice neutrals never hurt anyone either.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see where my $30 takes me!  Check back by the end of the week for results!

One thought on “CHALLENGE #1: Spring Fling

  1. Pingback: Spend Smarter, Live Better | Less Than Challenge

Leave a Reply

