Less Than Challenge

Living life with less than…

Less Bad Than Good

Leave a comment

Like so many others across the nation, my heart breaks for the men, women, and children affected by the tragic explosions at the Boston Marathon. Having once stood at a marathon finish line and been brought to tears by the amazing accomplishment of each runner that made it to that 26.2-mile mark, I cannot imagine a more devastating contrast of events and emotions than what was witnessed yesterday.

I have been deeply affected by the news reports and the sad, sad stories of lost limbs and lost lives. But I have been even more deeply moved by the stories of good and the messages of hope that are being shared everywhere you turn. Stories about the heroes who rushed towards the blasts to help. Messages like this Mr. Rogers quote – so simple, and yet so comforting, at a painful and confusing time. Reports of kindness in all its forms…from marathon runners who kept right on running to Mass General to donate blood, to generous Bostonians who willingly opened their homes to those in need. All of these things remind us that even in the worst of circumstances, there is always less bad than good.

Somehow, I have been blessed with a job that allows me to play the smallest of parts in doing good when things are bad. I have the incredible privilege of working for an organization of “helpers”, as Mr. Rogers might say. On days like today, I am reminded just how lucky I am. More importantly, I’m reminded that there are thousands of people doing more good in this world than I will ever do. I only hope that their stories continue to be told, day after day, to inspire us all to lessen the pain of all that is bad by filling the world with good.

Leave a Reply

