Less Than Challenge

Living life with less than…

CHALLENGE #2: A Running Goal

3 Comments

I’m a bit overdue in outlining my next challenge, so without further ado, here it is: Run 3.5 miles in less than 35 minutes.

Last week, we finally had the perfect weather for a little outdoor exercise, and I am pleased to say that I took full advantage of it. I headed out for my first fresh air run of the year with low expectations but high hopes, and a new “less than challenge” was born!

I have never been one to set target finish times for myself when it comes to running races. Generally, I’m happy if I can finish whatever the course may be without taking any breaks along the way. But I sort of surprised myself when I covered 3.49 miles last week in less than 45 minutes.

From MapMyRun, one of my favorite fitness apps!

I realize that sort of finish time wouldn’t win me much of anything, but considering that I probably walked a good mile and a half of the course, I started to feel like maybe I could set a goal and break it by the time I run the Workforce Challenge next month.

It normally takes me between 40 and 45 minutes to complete a 5K, and the race I’m getting ready for now is slightly longer: 3.5 miles to be exact.  So for this challenge, I’m aiming to run a 10-minute mile and to finish in less than 35 minutes. Other rules:

  1. I must run/walk at least 3.5 miles at least once a week, finishing each new run in less time than the previous one.
  2. All challenge-related runs must be completed outdoors. No treadmills allowed!
  3. I have from now until the Workforce Challenge on 5/16/2013 to achieve my target time.

 

I’ll post updates on my progress here and there, along with any helpful motivational techniques I find worth sharing. And don’t worry…I’ll have other challenges to run alongside this one between now and next month. So check back soon and be sure to share your tips on completing this or any other less than challenge!

3 thoughts on “CHALLENGE #2: A Running Goal

  1. I haven’t really ran in forever, and this just inspired me to want to do so! Going to give it a try tomorrow but I don’t know if I’ll make 3.5!

    • Yay! I’m so glad you’re inspired! And my 3.5 miles can hardly compare to the fact that you’ve run a half marathon! So however far you make it tomorrow…you are awesome!

  2. Pingback: Progress Report | Less Than Challenge

Leave a Reply

