Less Than Challenge

Living life with less than…

CHALLENGE #4: Gatsby Love

Leave a comment

Re-read The Great Gatsby and see the new movie in less than a week.

Like the rest of the world (at least the world as I see it), I have total Gatsby fever in anticipation of this week’s movie release. Months ago, I vowed to re-read the novel so it would be fresh in my mind at the theater, but alas I have not yet made it past the first chapter. And so – you guessed it – it’s time for a new challenge! 

I love to read, and I read a lot, but finishing a book in less than a week is a rare occurrence in my life. I typically read for 20 minutes before bed, after I’ve finally turned off the TV, done the dishes, talked to my parents on the phone…the list goes on and on. So I’m excited to challenge myself on time management this week, and to finish something I really want to finish anyway.

I’m not sure I really need to lay out rules for this challenge. It’s pretty straightforward. But for consistency’s sake…

  1. I must read F. Scott Fitzgerald’s classic novel from start to finish by 5pm on Friday, May 10.
  2. No credit for any portion of the book read previously…I will start today on page 1.
  3. I must then, of course, go see The Great Gatsby on Friday or Saturday, successfully completing this challenge in less than a week!

 

If you’re anything like me, you loved The Great Gatsby when you read it in high school. You did read it in high school, right? You’ve also watched all the previews, are totally in the Gatsby spirit, and can’t wait to see Baz Luhrmann’s artistic take on the story. If not, perhaps a quick listen to the official soundtrack – streaming free on NPR radio – will put you in the mood. (A huge thanks to Emily at Popsessive for sharing this last week!)

Will you be seeing the movie? Do you care at all how it compares to the book? Let me know…and feel free to join the challenge! If you don’t already have the book on your bookshelf, the Kindle version is only $4.99!

Happy reading!!

Leave a Reply

