Less Than Challenge

Living life with less than…

The First Fail

Leave a comment

It’s been more than a week since my last challenge, which was supposed to be completed in less than a week. And yet, this isn’t a results post…

So here’s what I’ve learned: I am much more judicious with my money than my time. 

Certainly I had enough hours to finish The Great Gatsby last week. I spent three nights in a hotel room in New Jersey on a business trip, but instead of reading non-stop, I caught up on emails, played Candy Crush, talked on the phone, slept. If I wasn’t in the right mind-set for devouring Gatsby, I simply put it off.  They say time is money, so why was it so easy to mismanage my time when I’m always so careful about managing my money?

It’s an interesting conundrum – one that will surely inspire more challenges down the road.  For now, I’m stuck admitting to my first “less than” fail. But falling short of success is no reason to quit, right?!

I’m excited to report that I did, in fact, finish the book today! And let me just say it was totally worth re-reading.  After more than 5 years, I had forgotten enough to make the whole book feel like new.  And yet, there were lines here and there that brought back completely vivid memories from the past.  It was a really neat experience, and Gatsby’s obsession with the past made it all the more enjoyable:

“Can’t repeat the past?” he cried incredulously. “Why of course you can!”

I don’t read a lot of books more than once, but I’m really glad I re-read this one.  I’m extremely curious about how the movie will measure up, and how Baz Luhrmann’s take on each character will compare to my own.  If you’ve been contemplating a re-read for yourself, I’d highly recommend you do it.

If not, perhaps a little music is all it will take to get you in the mood.  I’ve been obsessed with The Great Gatsby soundtrack from day one, with Lana Del Rey’s “Young & Beautiful” topping my list of favorites.  But since I finished reading today, I’ve been feeling like Gotye’s “Hearts a Mess” is just perfect for this book.  Listen for yourself, and let me know what you think…

Leave a Reply

